top of page

The National Society of Black Women in Medicine is dedicated to committing to initiatives that diversify the fields of healthcare and science, even if it is by one black woman at a time. This is why we have created "Sponsor a Scholarship". With your help, a member of the National Society of Black Women in Medicine will be one step closer to reaching her dream. Please see the current scholarships below. 


Dr. Lataisia Jones Medical Sciences Scholarship

Dr. Lataisia Jones is an American neuroscientist in Washington, D.C. at the American Society for Microbiology. Dr. Jones was the first African American to graduate with a Ph.D. from the Department of Biomedical Sciences located within the College of Medicine at Florida State University. This scholarship will be awarded to a NSBWM member pursuing a career in biomedical science.

Betty Smith Williams Nursing Scholarship

Dr. Betty Smith Williams was the first African American nurse hired as faculty in higher education in California. She co-founded the Council of Black Nurses Los Angeles (1971), she was co-founder and charter member of the National Black Nurses Association, Inc. (NBNA) and served as the 1995 -1999 7th National President. This scholarship will be awarded to a member of NSBWM that is a pre-nursing or nursing student to assist in fees associated with educational requirements including but not limited to programs fees and NCLEX fees. 

Dr. Rebecca Lee Crumpler Pre-Med Scholarship
Dr. Rebecca Lee Crumpler became the first African-American woman to become a doctor of medicine in the United States in 1864. The scholarship will be awarded to a collegiate junior or senior of NSBWM applying to MD/DO programs to assist with associated fees. 


bottom of page